Polka Dotted Dress

 

I asked her to go to the drive in

To see James Dean impress

So we went in my Dad’s convertible

And she said Yes

 

I didn’t think it mattered

that it really never made sense

but I could see an Elephant

in her Polka Dotted Dress.

 

We ate our butter popcorn

It all made quite a mess

We were a legend in that drive-in

when she said Yes

 

I didn’t think it mattered

that it was all  making less sense

and that Elephant was getting bigger

on her Polka Dotted Dress

 

71155_330272990934_6890669_n

 

At the chapel door she slapped me

winked at my best man Jess

to the priest she said go fuck yourself

when she should have said Yes

 

It did, it really did matter

It all made perfect sense

to look closer at the Elephant

on her  Polka Dotted Dress

 

 

Leave a Reply

